Review: Ante Up by Charlie Cochet

anteup

starstarstar

Author: Charlie Cochet
Series: Four Kings Security #2.5

Pages: 41

contemporary_rommm

Look but don’t touch. That’s the rule concerning dancers at Sapphire Sands, the prestigious members-only nightclub where Seth works at as a bartender. Seth has never had a problem following the rules until the day one of the dancers falls into his lap. Literally.

Kit loves his job dancing at Sapphire Sands. Every day his job brings him closer to his dream of opening his own dance studio, so risking it all on the hot bartender is not an option. Or is it?

My last book of the year 2018. I’ve been busy this last days, so the review comes a bit later than planned, but… here I am!! Trying to write something about a short story that won’t leave a mark in my life.

In this story we follow Seth, a bartender in the Sapphire Sands club, and Kit, one of the dancers (the kind of dancer who uses few pieces of clothing…). There is a really strict rule about working not dating dancers, so they found themselves in a tight situation with the boss…

The story is plain. It seemed the main characters were going to have a bigger problem for breaking the golden rule about not dating. Frank is even presented as kind of an ogre that would eat them alive if they show any kind of personal relationship. But in the end… it wasn’t that bad. The boss even comes up with a solution without making a big fuss of the situation, so in the end the story feels a bit hollow.

There is also not enough time to make me a fan of any of the characters. I guess I prefer Seth. He looks like a good guy and, well, I’m not going to deny that the descriptions of his body also helps to put him on top of the list… It’s such a short story that I won’t apologize for being a bit shallow. I’ll alawys save whatever I can of a book to grant it higher marks.

This story is included in the Four Kings Security saga. Do not expect any mention of the previous books or any appearance of the guys (no Ace, no fun :_( ). The only point in common is the club itself that was mentioned in the first book. Yes, that weird club for elite gay men. Waaay to peculiar for my taste, if you ask me.

I wanted to cramp another book before the end of the year, but the crazy Christmas schedule at home has kept me from fulfilling that goal. But that also means that I’m starting the year with a book by the fabulous Teagan Hunter, so… :).

paragraph1

2018 – Book Gallery

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.